Lough Derg, Co. Donegal – Twelfth Station

Twelfth Station Jesus dies on the cross (B)

Basilica of St. Patrick’s Purgatory, Pettigo, Lough Derg, Donegal..   Number of Lights 1 ,  Window: 14 Date 1929

Simon, known as ‘the zealot’, holds the twelfth station (Duffy: 2002). The inner medallion shows Jesus’ death on the cross. Mary, Saint John and Mary Magdalene remain at the cross.

Twelfth Station: Jesus dies on the cross



Photos by © Michael Cullen (for prints/sales www.irishimages.org) - Text © by Lucy Costigan
Duffy, J., Bishop of Clogher, The Way of the Cross, St. Patrick’s Basilica, Lough Derg, 2002